October 22, 2011

Forecast Update: Saturday 10/22/2011

SUNDAY 23rd   
SWELL/SURF: Old/small SW swell will linger through the day as the long period forerunner traces of a new SSW swell (205-195 deg) creep in through the morning. The new SSW energy will start to build more quickly through the afternoon/evening. Surf through the early morning will generally hang in the waist high zone (2-3’+). Then expect building surf over the afternoon with sets getting up to chest-shoulder high (3-4’+). Possibly even occasional head high+ waves (5’+) showing before dark.
WEATHER/WIND: Light offshore NNE’erly wind in the morning, with a light+ SSW-SW seabreeze for the afternoon. Possible evening glassoff. Partly to mostly cloudy, sunny skies. Chance for passing rain showers and thunderstorms.

The ISA World Masters Surfing Championship is sponsored by El Salvador Impresionante, Alcaldía del Puerto de La Libertad, Surfos, Alcatel, TACA), El Gráfico, Olas Permanentes Magazine, TIGO, Decameron, Cushe, Maya Realty, Yamaha, Alamo, La Femenina, CONJUVE, Amate Travel, Línea Ejecutiva, Surfline, Hospital de la Mujer, Arreconsa, Torogoz, Pepsi, Adrenaline, Gray Line El Salvador, CASATUR and POLITUR

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011, and the first World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 69 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA´s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER) and Debbie Beacham (USA).