August 28, 2011

History of Surfing, the ISA and the World Masters Surfing Championship

Surfing History

The roots of surfing reach back to the early Pacific islands when the ancestors of Polynesians and others started exploring the ocean and islands around them.  While there is no specific date as to when the first wave was ever surfed, it is generally known that by the 1700s, Hawaiians had begun to amaze foreign sailors and explorers with their wave-riding skills.

Surfing continued to develop in Hawaii and gained international importance in the 1900’s when the famous Hawaiian surfer Duke Kahanamoku won the gold medal for swimming in the 1912 Olympic Games.  Within the context of public relations, an exhibition tour was organized throughout the world, which enabled many countries to be exposed to surfing.

As a result, surfing grew in popularity, and in 1964 during the first World Surfing Championships near Sydney, Australia, the ISF (International Surfing Federation) was created, with Eduardo Arena elected as President. This association gathered all the surfing nations together and began organizing world championships every other year. In November 1976, in Hawaii, the ISF gave way to the ISA (International Surfing Association).

The ISA is the world’s governing authority for surfing and all its waveriding disciplines, including bodyboard, kneeboard, longboard, tandem, skimboard and bodysurf. The ISA governs the sports and works for their development in its member nations and the establishment of the sport of surfing in new places.

Starting in 2007, the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship became the pinnacle of the career of any surfer older than 35 year-old. It is an annual event, open to the official National Surfing Teams of the ISA’s member nations. Historically, the event has granted to its winners the title of “World Champion”.  The ISA World Masters Surfing Championship is also one of the largest events in competitive surfing.

Since 1996, the Sands of the World Ceremony have been held during the Opening Ceremony of the World Surfing Games, the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship and the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, to symbolize the true fraternal spirit that bonds together all members of the Surfing Tribe. The union of the countries of the world in this Ceremony is symbolized through the mixing of the sands from the shores of all participating delegations, showcasing the ISA hopes for a peaceful world.

The ISA will continue to promote its World Championship events as the true “Olympics” of surfing.  With gold, silver, bronze and copper medals awarded, the athletes will be competing for the honor to represent their country and national colors, in the true nature of surfings aloha spirit and fair play.

Previous Results of the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship:

2010 – Santa Catalina, Panama
Overall Team Standings
Final Team Medal Standings:
Gold:  Australia – 10456 points
Silver: South Africa – 10196 points
Bronze: Brazil – 8770 points
Copper: Puerto Rico – 8684 points

Gold: Andrew Banks (RSA)
Silver: Brett Bannister (AUS)
Bronze: Dean Hall (AUS)
Copper: Juan Ashton (PUR)

Grand Masters
Gold: Juan Ahston (PUR)
Silver: Glen Pringle (AUS)
Bronze: Andre Malherbe (RSA)
Copper: Ricardo Villanueva (PUR) 

Gold: Rod Baldwin (AUS)
Silver: Sergio Penna (BRA)
Bronze: David Malherbe (RSA)
Copper: Martín Jerí (PER) 

Grand Kahunas
Gold: Chris Knutsen (RSA)
Silver: Javier Huarcaya (PER)
Bronze: Kenneth Myers (PAN)
Copper: Javier Gorbea (PUR)

Women Masters
Gold: Heather Clark (RSA)
Silver: Andrea Lopes (BRA)
Bronze: Patricia Rossi (TAH)
Copper: Sandra English (AUS)


2008 – Punta Rocas, Peru
Overall Team Standing
Gold: South Africa
Silver: Australia
Bronze: Brazil
Copper: Peru  

Gold: Juan Ashton (PRI)
Silver: Ricardo Toledo (BRA)
Bronze: Rob Page (AUS)
Copper: Jay Sharpe (AUS)

Grand Masters
Gold: Rob Page (AUS)
Silver: Magoo de la Rosa (PER)
Bronze: Jojó de Olivença (BRA)
Copper: Andre Malherbe (ZAF)

Gold: Marc Wright (RSA)
Silver: Nick Pike (RSA)
Bronze: Jorge Posso (PER)
Copper: Rod Baldwin (AUS)  

Grand Kahunas
Gold: Chris Knutsen (RSA)
Silver: Paco del Castillo (PER)
Bronze: Frank Hayter (AUS)
Copper: René González (PRC)

Women Masters
Gold: Heather Clark (RSA)
Silver: Rocío Larrañaga (PER)
Bronze: Sandra English (AUS)
Copper: Briggite Mayer (BRA)

2007 – Rincón, Puerto Rico
Overall Team Standing
Gold: South Africa
Silver: Puerto Rico
Bronze: Tahiti
Copper: Peru

Gold: Juan Ashton (PRI)
Silver: Heifara Tahutini (TAH)
Bronze: Wagner Pupo (BRA)
Copper: John McCarthy (RSA)

Grand Masters
Gold: Magoo de la Rosa (PER)
Silver: Heinare Paez (TAH)
Bronze: Alberto Licha (PRI)
Copper: David Malherbe (RSA)

Gold: Chris Knutsen (RSA)
Silver: Javier Huarcaya (PER)
Bronze: Gilles Asenjo (FRA)
Copper: Rudi Plamboom (RSA)

The ISA World Masters Surfing Championship is sponsored by El Salvador Impresionante, Alcaldía del Puerto de La Libertad, Surfos, Alcatel, TACA), El Gráfico, Olas Permanentes Magazine, TIGO, Decameron, Cushe, Maya Realty, Yamaha, Alamo, La Femenina, CONJUVE, Amate Travel, Línea Ejecutiva, Surfline, Hospital de la Mujer, Arreconsa, Torogoz, Pepsi, Adrenaline, Gray Line El Salvador, CASATUR and POLITUR

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011, and the first World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 69 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA´s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER) and Debbie Beacham (USA).